A Different Voice

As I was tweeting this past week, I was intrigued by the controversy over Khan Academy and its philosopy/videos. I’m not jumping into that messy discussion on this blog entry.  Instead, as I was trying to figure out what was going on, I stumbled upon a different, fresh voice in that of Vi Hart (@vihartvihart)  – a “professional mathemusician”.  What is a Mathemusician? Check out this video and then more of her work on YouTube… you decide! I’m fascinated and learned a lot of math – in a connected way.  I’ve seen these concepts take a couple of weeks in a classroom and it never got this connected.  Seems like the perfect video to get students thinking creatively and encouraging their curiosity… take a watch…

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-pyuaThp-c&feature=relmfu]

Here are two of my favorite reactions…

  •  Twitter about this video – @MichelleMcDi When my little one finished watching that video, she applauded. It was a little weird.
  • Check out the drawing at the top of this page  – the author of this blog’s 7 year old son made this picture after watching Vi Hart’s videos. They have been watching them all back to back now and “he is fascinated with the ideas of math more than the I [author] ever was. Now that is brilliant.”

I could watch these all day.  You see, I am and always have been a big fan of doodling.  Just ask the mailman when he delivered the letters in those fancy envelopes to my friends.  I’m re-energized!  I believe in the power of creativity in math to discover the beauty that math can expose! Thanks Vi Hart for making my day!

What are your reactions?

About napmath

I recently retired from full-time teaching. I taught students in High School math classes from Basic Math through AP Calculus. I have been into integrating technology into my classes since 1981. I am Nationally Board Certified, am the proud recipient of a Presidential Award of Excellence in Math Teaching, text book author, Golden Apple Scholar, Certified SMART Board Trainer, Regional Technology Teacher of the Year, and give workshops across the country - geometry, Common Core, mathematics, Interactive Whiteboards, and technology. I am currently working as an adjunct faculty member at Illinois Wesleyan University and authoring books for SMART Boards and Promethean Boards with Vision Technology. http://visionstechnology.com/
This entry was posted in Math Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

